Internet sensation Kimbo Slice was recently cut from the UFC after his loss to Matt Mitrione in UFC 113. Kimbo Slice was noticed by the UFC after he posted videos of himself fighting people on youtube.com. Dana White quickly gave him his chance at fame by putting Kimbo on the hit show "The Ultimate Fighter" in which 30 fighters compete for a contract in the UFC. Kimbo Slice didn't win but he got noticed on the show and was given the chance to fight in the UFC.
I'm glad Kimbo was cut from the UFC because I believe Kimbo fighting in the UFC was a publicity stunt. He was only given a contract because millions of people watched his fights on youtube and wanted to see him in the UFC. Dana White, the owner of the UFC, thought that the millions of youtube viewers would tune in to watch Kimbo fight a proffesional fighter and they did. We quickly realized that he was not a good fighter after his loss to Seth Petrazelli who was half the size of Kimbo and a nobody. Just because you can beat up random people of the streets doesn't mean you deserve to be in the cage with a UFC fighter.
I agree with Mason. Kimbo was clearly not ready to fight in the UFC. He got his short lived fame by fighting random people in the streets, and those fights can not compare to fighting in the UFC. Kimbo fighting those people would bee like Ryan Leaf playing in an amateur flag football league. He would impress everyone with his arm and accuracy against average joe defenders, but would not last in the NFL. I think Kimbo will get another chance, but I don't think he'll become a great UFC fighter.
ReplyDelete